a resting trust

this is what i spent most of the afternoon looking at.

stillness.

i was awake. she was asleep. my thoughts were racing. hers were resting. i was worrying. she was trusting.

it made me think of how Trust in its purest and most complete form is Rest. if i say i trust God, and yet can’t rest, than i’m not really trusting. i think that’s what David was talking about in his psalm that gets so frequently quoted in hospitals like the one i’m in. “the Lord is my shepherd…he makes me lie down…he leads me…he refreshes me…he guides me…he comforts me…he restores me…”   when i give God his rightful position, then he becomes the initiator in our relationship. because God is, i don’t have to be.  i think that for me, rest is being relieved of the temptation to be responsible for all that God is responsible for.

as i watched Lucy sleep this afternoon, this old hymn was playing in my head:

oh how great Thy loving kindness, vaster broader than the sea
oh how marvelous Thy goodness, lavished all on me
yes I rest in Thee Beloved, know what wealth of grace is Thine
know Thy certainty of promise, and have made it mine

Jesus I Am Resting (Jean Pigott, 1876)

~ by bradherndon on December 27, 2009.

2 Responses to “a resting trust”

  1. It is hard to rest and trust…but what a timely reminder, especially in this hurried season. Thank you for sharing your heart, and for being such a good daddy to your sick girl.

  2. Hi Brad,

    I didn’t know Lucy was in the hospital. I’m sorry to hear that. Do you mind me asking what’s wrong. We’ll pray for you and her.

    Ken

Leave a Reply

 
