she’s asleep, but i’m singing tunes in my head.

i’m in bed blogging.

allison is laying next to me sleeping. she hates it when i type in bed.

i have the loudest keypad in the history of keypads. the keys are super-spring loaded, so i’m typing slow.

it took me over a minute to type that last sentence.

why go through all this trouble, you ask? because tomorrow is sunday. all week long i’ve been waiting anxiously for tomorrow. why? because of some of the lyrics we’ll be singing in our worship. since i’m on the inside, i’ve been listening to these songs all week and getting excited about some of the lyrics in particular. lyrics like these:

“break my heart for what breaks Yours, everything i am for your kingdom’s cause”

“the empty grave is singing now, that He is alive and we are free”

“Your glory goes above all fame”

“i live to bring You praise”

any one of those will radically change my scope on life when i really believe it. if you’re like me, you probably spend a lot of sundays singing because the screens tell you to, or because the dude on stage in the trendy-worship-pastor-clothes seems to think it’s a good idea. how many times can you remember a lyric from a song you sang the sunday before? try.

don’t let that be the case this time. lets you and me own the words coming out of our mouths tomorrow.

in fact, what’s a lyric from your worship that really stands out to you?

~ by bradherndon on November 22, 2008.

3 Responses to “she’s asleep, but i’m singing tunes in my head.”

  1. it might sound cliche’ but one that stood out to me a few weeks ago was the chorus to “the heart of worship”

    “I’m coming back to the heart of worship
    And it’s all about You
    All about You, Jesus
    I’m sorry Lord for the thing I’ve made it
    When it’s all about You
    It’s all about You Jesus”

    i might be opening a can of something nasty but:

    It makes me look at a lot of what we have made of worship, and what i have made of it, and wonder why we work so hard at something that in essence is easy. we say that we have to have all our ducks in a row for worship to “feel good”… 1) i slept well last night, 2) I got to church early and found a great parking space, 3) Brad played “that song” that really makes me feel like singing and praising, 4) they are mixing the music quieter, all equate to “i was able to worship well today”. When the fact of the matter is you should be able to worship in the middle of Africa, with no sound system, no lighting rig, no brad, and heck! no water! But somehow we feel that we have a worthiness. like we deserve something. just think. if we really got what we deserve, we definitely would not like the outcome.
    And please don’t get me wrong. I am so thankful for the freedom i have to worship, sometimes i just wish we could get “it all” out of the way, and get to the dirty, crazy, fly by the seat of your pants, amazing, life changing, praise to “The One” who is worthy of “it all”…

  2. “Simply trusting Thee, Lord Jesus,
    I behold Thee as Thou art,
    And Thy love, so pure, so changeless,
    Satisfies my heart;
    Satisfies its deepest longings,
    Meets, supplies its every need,
    Compasseth me round with blessings:
    Thine is love indeed.”

    it chokes me up every time i sing it or even think about singing it. that’s got to mean something, right?

  3. Your grace is like a ocean and I want to drown in it….

Leave a Reply

 
